Qantas Economy Class BNE-TSV

Flight 12/12: Brisbane to Townsville

One last flight!

I had a couple of hours to blow in Brisbane, so I holed up in the Qantas lounge and tried to start getting on top of some emails. The chaos that appears to have occurred at work in my absence is mindblowing. Tomorrow isn’t going to be fun.

Anyway, the flight boarded on time, and there was a bit of an incident at the gate. There was an American couple asking the ground crew a question about a connecting flight they had to make in Townsville, and some guy in the economy line dressed in head to toe NQ Cowboys supporters gear started making disparaging comments about Americans, and saying “go back to where you came from,” etc. North Queensland – keeping it classy. I had to make a real effort not to have a go at him for it, I was kind of itching for a fight. I was tired and in a bad mood, and wasn’t prepared to put up with crap from anyone.

The meal was served not long after take-off, and OMG, why don’t Qantas do this all the time? I got a package that contained carrot and celery sticks with some hommus. I like this stuff! Give it to me all the time! I wouldn’t complain! I hope this is a new thing that stays, but I will not be holding my breath.

IMG_20160104_145220

Dear Qantas catering: Gimme more of this!

Spent most of the flight playing games on my phone. Yes, I was bored. And tired. I lost a lot of lives. We landed on time in Townsville, my bag made it, and I was rapidly in a taxi home. Only to realise how much laundry I had to do and how much I didn’t want to go grocery shopping. Sleep now, domesticity tomorrow!

So, 12 flights in 2 weeks later, I return. Never again. As fun as the diving may have been, Raja Ampat was just too much hassle for a somewhat mediocre dive experience. To be brutally honest (as always), I prefer the diving in PNG. After having now dived both the north and south of Raja Ampat on different trips, all I have to say is “I’d rather go to Milne Bay“. Sorry, not sorry.

Have something to say? Say it here!

