United Airlines Economy Class CNS-GUM

Townsville to Chuuk: flight 2…

So after landing at about 5pm in Cairns from my domestic flight, I had a roughly 7.5 hour layover in Cairns before the flight to Guam. Qantas wouldn’t check my bags through on to United, so I had to run circles around Cairns airport trying to find the luggage storage guy. Took a while, but eventually got him to put my dive bag into the security room so that I could head into the city to grab some dinner.

Predictably, I went back to my favourite Turkish restaurant (Ala Turka) on The Esplanade and ordered my favourite dish – the baba ghanoush salad. All the noms!

IMG_5796My favourite food in Cairns! It comes with Turkish bread by default, but I didn’t eat it.

After eating dinner in town, I went for a short wander (it was raining, so didn’t really want to walk around for long) before heading back to the airport for the international flight from Cairns to Guam. All straight forward with check-in, immigration, and security. They’ve installed the bloody body scanners at security screening now though. I hate those things. Blame the TSA.

Post-security, almost nothing was open. The Guam flight is the last of the night, and since it leaves just after midnight, and there’s no other flights in the same general time slot, nobody bothers to stay open. The little cafe that does pizzas etc. was open, as was the newsagent and the duty free place. I got a raw food bar and a bottle of Coke Zero from the newsagent. I was tired, and the Coke probably wasn’t the best idea, because I wanted to curl up and sleep on the flight. I would inevitably want to kick my own ass for that in a few hours.

The flight information from United says that the CNS-GUM flight only serves a snack. This, historically, usually means they don’t do special catering. So a bit of advance planning, and I made sure I had something to eat on the flight, given that inevitably, whatever United was likely to serve me would be inedible. To be honest, even regular passengers who don’t have special meal requests complain endlessly about the catering on United, so I really didn’t have any expectations. Which was a good thing.

The flight departed on time, and it was half empty. Most people had a row to themselves. We could stretch out and sleep! The snack got served about 20 minutes into the flight, and as predicted – no special catering. I literally couldn’t eat anything on the tray. There were cookies, a muffin, and a chocolate bar. I ate one of the snack bars I bought at the airport in Cairns and got some black tea, then pretty much passed out until we were about to land.

IMG_5797

What United gave me…

IMG_5798What I actually ate…BYO VGML.

We landed on time in Guam and then had a nice long queue at immigration. Joy. Transit was easy enough, and that was probably the most efficient and easy TSA screening I’ve ever done in my entire life! So clearly the TSA aren’t all bad, just the ones on the mainland US…*cough*MIA*cough*

Have something to say? Say it here!

