Qantas Business Class BNE-TSV

Almost there!

Spent half the time in transit on the phone to a family member who was going to pick me up at the airport in Townsville. Lots of logistical stuff to sort out when you’re moving yourself from one end of the country to the other like that!

The Qantas business lounge in Brisbane hasn’t changed any since the last time I was there. It started out relatively empty, but still gets a bit overcrowded around 7am, but it’s not as bad as the general Qantas Club, or the general departures lounge outside, so I made do. Had a hot shower and some breakfast. Gluten free museli with fruit. And coffee.

After the mess on the Perth-Brisbane flight with the catering, I wasn’t holding my breath on the Townsville flight getting it right. So figured I should eat in the lounge. Need not have worried.

No pre-departure drink, but offered one very quickly once in the air. Just got water. Wasn’t feeling very well, and even the thought of coffee made me feel queasy. Then the meal was served. Lo and behold – it was actually vegan! And mostly gluten free!

It included:

  • Grapes (seedless ones even!)
  • Ciabatta roll with lactose free spread (more on that in a minute)
  • Sandwich with avocado, chargrilled vegetables (cold), and mixed greens
  • Cranberry and apricot cake thing

Obviously the grapes were fine to eat. The ciabatta roll was out. The lactose free spread is a nightmare. It’s never clear whether it’s actually dairy free or not. A lot of lactose free products use regular dairy, and add lacteeze (or an equivalent product) to it to make it “lactose free”. It doesn’t mean it’s actually dairy free. I never eat “lactose free” products unless I can see the ingredients list for myself. I ate the avocado, chargrilled vegetables and mixed greens, but left the bread it came on. And the cranberry and apricot cake thing had the ingredients on it, and it was actually vegan and gluten free! It was also awesome!

The regular brunch meal looked to be some kind of soup and a toasted ham and cheese sandwich in case you were wondering.

IMG_0617[1]My VGML from Brisbane to Townsville!

What I don’t understand is how they can get it right on a short haul regional flight from Brisbane to Townsville, but screw up so epically on the medium haul major transit route from Perth to Brisbane?

Anyway, flight was totally uneventful. I still wasn’t feeling well when we landed (on time). Bags were first off the plane, and then it was off to start my new life!

One thought on “Qantas Business Class BNE-TSV

  1. My partner and I love reading your blog and can relate! I love your little stories and complaints…because everything about that is true! 🙂 It’s interesting to see other airlines and the VGML meals they offer, and yes, the airline food plus the service in the U.S. is so bad! So far we really enjoyed Thai Airways, Asiana and Air New Zealand!

Have something to say? Say it here!

