Emirates Business Class Lounge – Dubai

After landing in Dubai from Perth, I made my way to the Emirates business class lounge since that was what I had access to. I’d heard horror stories about this lounge as people said it was so overcrowded that you’d be better off in the main terminal. Be that as it may, I wanted to at least check it out for a short while. A short while was all I really had anyway, since my flight from Perth landed at 0500 and my flight to Lusaka left at 0925. Between the time taken to get off the plane and into the lounge and having to go find my next flight, that only gave me three hours. Sounds like a lot, but in reality, by the time you go shower, grab some food, check up on the ton of emails dumped in your inbox during your last flight, and take some photos of the facilities? Not really much time to get bored!

The lounge is huge. Stretches more or less the entire length of the Emirates terminal!  There are multiple dining areas, ranging from snack bars, to cafe style service, and a fine dining area. I went for the cafe style, as I was hungry, but not really wanting a proper sit down meal.

There were a surprising number of vegan options available. I was initially offered eggs, but when I said I was vegetarian, they understood immediately and hurried to point out the options they had available. Various curries, vegetables, gluten free breads, fruits, cereals…And the barista! Have to admit, I was pretty impressed, not only by the options, but by the friendly attitude of the staff. It’s not uncommon for me to get an eyeroll from lounge staff when I ask about vegan or gluten free food. The Emirates staff in the Dubai Business Class Lounge were almost going out of their way to be helpful. Makes for a nice change! And also went some way to make up for the poor service and catering on my Perth-Dubai flight.

Apologies for the quality of the photos below, I had to try and sneak them. People didn’t seem to want me taking photos inside the lounge at all.

IMG_4770 Some of the breakfast offerings inside the Emirates Business Class Lounge in Dubai. Lots of fruit and pastries!

IMG_4771The cafe style dining inside the lounge. With a barista to make you coffee if you don’t want to make your own. 

I got some beans, hash browns, and fruit. And a Diet Pepsi (no Coke Zero [insert sad face here]). Also got the barista to make me an espresso. Well made, but not the best coffee I’ve had by a long shot. The barista might be brilliant, but without good beans, you notice it.

Then I went and had a shower – the facilities aren’t too bad. Hot water wasn’t as hot as I’d like, but it was hotter than warm, so not the end of the world. Towels, shaving kits, dental kits, and toiletries are provided. And the showers are clean, if not especially spacious compared to some others I’ve used around the world.

The wi-fi in the lounge? Yeah. Not so awesome. The password is on a little plaque on every table in the lounge, so it’s easy to access. But once you’re on, it’s slow. Incredibly slow. Even just trying to load the Google homepage it was timing out. On the upside, there’s plenty of powerpoints to plug stuff in!

One bonus is that you can actually get to your boarding gate directly from the lounge. You don’t have to exit the lounge into the general departures area if you don’t want to.

All in all, the Emirates Business Class Lounge in Dubai is certainly one of the better ones I’ve visited in my life. It’s really only the wi-fi that lets the place down.

Have something to say? Say it here!

