Kuala Lumpur International Airport Malaysia Airlines Regional Lounge

Upon landing in Kuala Lumpur from Perth, I had a 10 hour layover. Unavoidable due to the flight schedules on Malaysia Airlines (MH). As such, when I landed, I planned to check out the Malaysia Airlines lounge at Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA). I had booked a room at the Sama Sama Express Hotel within the terminal to spend my layover so I could have a shower and get some sleep, but I wanted to see the lounges as well.

I’d been informed in advance that the MH Golden Lounge (the first/business class lounge that I should have had access to) in the Satellite Terminal at KLIA had been closed for renovation, so my options for lounge access were either the MH Regional Lounge in the Main Terminal, the Cathay Pacific (CX) Lounge, or the VIP Lounge. I had also been informed in advance that the VIP Lounge at KLIA was terrible, so I avoided it like the plague and decided to check out the MH Regional Lounge and the CX Lounge. However due to being excessively tired (got no sleep on the Perth-KL flight, even with the bed), I decided to just go straight to the transit hotel rather than go lounge hopping. I could do that in the morning!

In the morning, around 5.30am I checked out of the transit hotel and I headed to the Cathay Pacific Lounge. It was locked up and pitch black. It’s supposedly meant to be open at 5am, so not particularly impressed. I plan to hit it up on the way home though, so I will comment on it then.

Upon realising the CX lounge was shut, I just headed straight for the MH Regional Lounge in the Main Terminal. Quite spacious and well set out actually. Plus, there’s a barista! Always my favorite person early in the morning!

20131211-055515.jpg
Mr Barista!

I got my long black and I was happy. Not the best coffee I’ve ever had by a long shot, but caffeine is caffeine when you’re up this early! Sadly in the drinks fridge, there was only regular Pepsi, no Pepsi Light. I don’t drink the regular stuff at all. Way too sweet for my tastebuds these days.

The food offerings however weren’t so amazing for me as a vegan and gluten intolerant traveller: sausages, eggs, pastries, breakfast cereals, yogurt…And my worst nightmare – squid and prawn sambal. You have no idea how tempted I was to go against all medical advice and eat it. It used to be one of my all time favorite foods. I didn’t go there though. There was a small platter of fruit out however, so I got a few slices of pineapple and papaya.

20131211-055525.jpg
The Malaysia Airlines Regional Lounge food at KLIA…

After my small breakfast I probably could have wandered back to check out the CX lounge in the Satellite Terminal, I just couldn’t be bothered. The MH Regional Lounge was relatively comfortable, and had half decent wi-fi, so I just hung around until my flight was called.

20131211-073229.jpg
Watching the sunrise from the lounge…

Have something to say? Say it here!

