Today’s conference catering fail?

Had to attend a conference today and as usual, I informed the organisers well in advance that I was vegan and gluten free. Was told that it was fine and they’d sort it out with the catering staff.

Morning tea I got a fruit plate. Fantastic! Off to a good start!

Lunch? Not so much. It was some lettuce and tomato (no dressing), some eggplant type dip, rice crackers, and some vegetable curry. Everything looked fine. It was vegan alright. But I’m guessing they put some thickener containing gluten into the curry sauce. Because not 10 minutes later and I’m running to the bathroom…

Fantastic. Do you know how painful it is to have to sit around at a conference listening to talks when all you want to do is go to the bathroom every 2 minutes?

Afternoon tea was another fruit plate. I gave it to someone else to eat because I was still sick.

And then at the end of the day at the conference drinks, I think they’d given up on me because every single thing they brought around as snacks had meat in it.

Admittedly I didn’t have to pay to attend this conference. But the people hosting it paid a fortune for the catering. I said something to them, and they weren’t impressed by the incident.

I suppose I should be grateful that it was only an issue with gluten, and not dairy? Still, I find it incredibly frustrating when this happens. Professional caterers should not be making such mistakes.

ImageThe likely offender…

One thought on “Today’s conference catering fail?

  1. Pingback: Malaysia Airlines Business Class PER-KUL | The Vegan Frequent Flyer

Have something to say? Say it here!

