On the road (ship?) in…Antarctica!

Ah, the epic Antarctic adventure! It was always top of my bucket list, and I’ve picked it off. I would love to go back again one day if my budget allows for it.

I flew to Ushuaia in Tierra del Fuego, Argentina to get on a ship and cross Drake Passage down to the Antarctic Peninsula. I’ll write a separate post about vegan food on LAN because I fly with them a lot. Perks of working in South America!

Food on boats is always a difficult topic. Boats are small and have limited storage space. Obviously in Antarctica, you’re also away from shops, so if you run out of something, you run out of it. There is no more until you get back to port in Argentina a couple of weeks later. You are quite literally cruising around in the middle of nowhere.

That being said, the chef’s on board the ship I went away on were amazing. There were about 100 passengers and around 20-30 crew on board the Akademik Sergey Vavilov on my trip. So I’m sure you can imagine between all of us there were a litany of dietary issues. But I managed to survive 2.5 weeks on board eating vegan and gluten free! Lots of fruit. Lots of salad. And as there were a few of us who were gluten intolerant, we were able to get gluten free bread every day! I was really impressed with how well the ship managed to deal with it all to be honest.

One thing I have to make really clear here is that you absolutely have to notify the ship well in advance of any dietary issues. As soon as you book. Do not leave it until the last minute to book if you want to go to go to Antarctica and you have dietary restrictions. They buy the food ages in advance, and if you don’t tell them, they can’t make suitable arrangements. You cannot just forget to tell them in this case. Otherwise you’re going to be stuck at sea with nothing but fruit to eat (assuming you don’t have a fruit allergy)!

A little chilly? BBQ Antarctica Style! I ate salad and vegetables…

Cheers to that!

Have something to say? Say it here!

